Maire Claire Put Their Foot In It

Dear Marie Claire,

I am writing to you after reading my friend Liz’s post. I can’t put into words the way she can the anger and plain disappointment you have brought out in so many people today, there are 73 pages of comments on this “story” as of right now.

(that is the only time I will link to this drivel)

This “story” is nothing short of bigotry and hate in its most basic form. No retraction, “update’ or apology can take away from the fact that you allowed a “reporter” to put these words on your website, that you didn’t think for even a second that they are simply wrong.

Living in family where weight has always been an issue, this article made me feel ill. It made me think of my friends, my family and all the women and men around this world that work so hard each day to fight their own weight fights.

My friend Teresa, she runs 4 miles a day. A DAY. She is obese.

Liz just ran a 5K! A 5K!

I love my children, my husband and my family. Technically I am clinically obese.

Are we wrong? Are we “disgusting”?

No.

We are all wonderful, loving and beautiful people.

So Marie Claire…I hope that foot in your mouth tastes good.

And I hope you enjoy the loss of so many customers.

I know about 40 of my friends that will never again buy your magazine, and about 20 more that canceled their subscriptions today.

Kellyn

This entry was posted in bloggers, Life, Me. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Maire Claire Put Their Foot In It

  1. Megan says:

    So true. You, Kellyn, are beautiful inside and out!

  2. Bre says:

    It’s official…I am speechless. No-wait I’m not! What’s amazing is by the charts of western medicine I am clinically obese! For those who have never seen me I am 5’4″ and weigh 140 lbs. However-I am a size 0-2 and fit into my 8 year olds clothes. I ask this: Who’s standards and charts are we using? Society wonders why children can be so hurtful and be such bullies…look at how the adults they are around can think/act…where do they think it starts? As my Granny says, “you can’t cure stupid!”

  3. Amy says:

    This is such BULL S**T. I can’t believe it.

    I will never read that magazine.

    I’d like to take the reporter and well… I can’t say… but man would I give her… well, can’t say that either. 🙂

  4. Wow.
    I wondered what you had been tweeting about…..

  5. Liz says:

    You are beautiful inside and out! I’m still so furious at the article…grrr.

Leave a Reply

