Me and the Conference

The Minnesota Blogger Conference was this weekend.

I learned a lot, more about myself then about blogging though.

I have a feeling that I will be the lone voice on this, the only person that felt this way (or at least that will say anything).

I have long said that my blog is for me. I write what I want, how I want and with whatever content I feel fits me best.

I don’t blog about all the things going on in my life, some things are best left alone. But I do blog about what I am feeling, about certain things that affect me and my own person.

When I signed up for the blogger conference, I don’t know what I was expecting. A chance to see some friends, of course but beyond that I had no idea. Sitting through sessions, listening to others tell me their stories.

But instead, I felt off being there. I felt like I didn’t fit in, didn’t have a place to be when surrounded by all these bloggers. Some that I had heard of, and some that I had no clue.

So many people have been talking about “feeling so welcome”.

Not me.

It could be my introvert side that came out in so many ways. I am not a “new” people person.  I do great with people who I know, people I am comfortable with. But put me in a room with people who I don’t know, and don’t know me and I shut down.

I did that.

I didn’t introduce myself, only talked to those that I knew, or who I knew I would be meeting. And sometimes that didn’t even happen.

I felt out-of-place.

So getting a phone call was my great escape. I made my apologies and made an exit.

Now, don’t get me wrong. There were so many expectations that I had for Saturday. I wanted to listen to Heather speak, and hear Matt’s story in real life but my level of awkwardness and aloneness was just too powerful.

Jo was by my side for over an hour, trying to get my computer to connect to the wifi (didn’t work darn it) and she was wonderful, as were all my friends that I have “known” both IRL and URL for many many months. But it wasn’t enough.

I am not the type of person that can handle this type of event. I need the social aspect of it, the forming of bonds and the goal of a charity or mission to achieve.

Now I know, I am not a conference type of blogger. I am not a sit in a room and talk about why you blog, or how you blog type of blogger. And next year I know to stay home, and let someone else who REALLY knows that they are that type of blogger have my ticket.

BUT I will say that Missy and Arik did and AMAZING job with everything about this conference. The location was outstanding, even with the construction on the street below. The speakers that I did see were on top of their game, knew what they were talking about. And having so many bloggers in one spot is such a wonder! They came out of the woodwork for sure!

So while I am not that blogger, so many are and the response and respect for the day made it a huge success for the entire team that planned and coordinated the conference.

Next year I will gladly watch from the sidelines.

This entry was posted in Blog-A-Thon, bloggers, Me, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Me and the Conference

  1. Molly says:

    Kellyn, good for you for seeing this and owning it. I mean really. It takes a ton of courage to stand up and say, you know, this wasn’t for me.

    I loved seeing you and look forward to seeing you at an event that is a better fit for you soon.

  2. Becky B says:

    I know what you mean about feeling out of place. I’m not good with new people, either, and I’m very shy, too. Being around all of those bloggers was kind of intimidating! At times I felt some kind of imposter. But in the end, I think I got a lot out of it, and I’m looking forward to future events. Maybe that’ll help me break out of my shell. I’m glad you were there (at least part of the time) and that I got a chance to meet you!

  3. darcie says:

    Really? YOU? An introvert? Who knew! I feel like from the moment I met you we’ve been friends forever! I did NOT get that about you!
    I did wonder where you went off to – but I was upstairs most of the day as well…so I didn’t get a chance to meet people or even really have a chance to feel what so many others are feeling – and maybe that’s a good thing.
    I too blog for me and only me…but there were so many sessions I did want to hear – like Heather sharing about sharing too much or too little, Molly telling us how SHE handles give aways…
    there was so much to learn there – even for the teeniest of people like myself…
    I’m so sorry you felt uncomfortable there – I wish you would have come upstairs and hung out with us! We would have had you!! Heck, I’d of even put you to work!
    I’m proud of you for telling us how you felt – that’s what this tribe is supposed to be all about – being honest with ourselves and each other – and we all grow because of it –
    big hugs my friend – big. fat. hugs.

    • fritzfacts says:

      I KNOW you guys, that is a huge difference. It was all the other people that had me nervous and terrified…

      I didn’t even think about coming up to sit with you…note for another time!

  4. MamaBear says:

    I’m proud of you for speaking your heart on how you felt that day. I don’t know how to thank you for your help on Saturday! I was so nervous and you swooped in and saved the day. THANK YOU!

  5. suzi says:

    You are pretty darn awesome, Kellyn. I was happy to see you and hang out with you Saturday and really appreciated this blog post. I think we all feel a bit intimidated when we are in a new environment. I felt like that too. 🙂

  6. Andrea says:

    Thank you for writing this post. Although I wasn’t able to make it on Saturday, I have definitely felt the way you feel in other situations. I have been reading your blog for a while and I hope I get to meet you IRL at another event soon.

  7. Liz says:

    I thought it was wonderful that you were there. It helps ME be less introverted when I know there are lovely and safe people there with me. So I am so glad you went. That being said I know the feeling and often have to fight against it to create the experience that I want to have.

  8. Tina says:

    Love that you were honest and shared your heart on this! And I love that I got to meet you that day despite your introvertedness. (Is that a word?) I hope that you do in fact come to other events so I can see you again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

