Mountains of pickles

Today I made 18 jars of pickles.

Let’s process that for a minute.

18 jars of pickles is:

6 pounds of cuccumbers in various sizes and shapes.

45 minutes of chopping, slicing and packing cuccumbers.

2 bunches of dill

2 packs of pre-made pickle mix

3 2/3 cups of vinegar

15 2/3 cups of water

1 1/3 cups of sugar

18 jars (16 quarts and 2 pints)

18 lids (boiled)

18 rings

2 1/2 hours spent at the stove boiling, stiring and processing

1 table half filled with jars that STILL need cooling time before they can be put away.

And then I decided to make Zucchini bread.

I must be crazy.

But it was a good day, and we got all of our errands done before we even started the pickles at noon.

My feet hurt, my arms hurt and my head hurts.

But it was a good day.

This entry was posted in Blog-A-Thon, Canning. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mountains of pickles

  1. samara says:

    I am majorly impressed! I’ve never canned or jarred a thing in my life but it sounds like this was a major accomplishment today!

  2. Great work there love! 🙂

  3. Alison says:

    Wow! I love pickles and it sounds like you do too. 🙂 How yummy those are going to be all winter.

Leave a Reply

