A New Tradition

We had a tradition when I was in school. My friend Lisa would always hold a pool party when school got out, and I would hold a gathering the weekend before school started. It went this way for years. It became a tradition among our friends, one that we looked forward too. It marked the beginning of summer, and the end. When I changed high schools it went on for another year, until we all had jobs and couldn’t take the time off.

This year, I am passing that torch onto Boo. As I type this, she is downstairs with 4 of her friends watching the premiere of Camp Rock 2 and having a scream filled time. While they aren’t watching as much of the movie as one would hope they would, they are having a great time. Pizza and snacks have been consumed, and once the movie is done we will play a couple Wii games before lights out.

I was excited when Boo started talking about having friends over for the movie, knowing that this is something that we can do for years to come the weekend before school starts. Right now she has one friend from school, a cousin, a friend from softball and a friend since birth. These girls have never met (well two have) and are getting along so well. They are giggling, screaming and talking up a storm. They are changing for bed, even though there are hours left to play. They are planning how they will sleep so their heads are all facing the same way.

These girls, this group of Boo’s friends, are making sure that Boo’s first Back to School party is a roaring success!

And Camp Rock 2 isn’t bad for their moods either.

This entry was posted in Blog-A-Thon, Boo, friends, school days. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A New Tradition

  1. darcie says:

    ah…fun!
    There’s nothing better than good friends…So lucky Boo is starting off early!
    xoxo

  2. Liz says:

    Sounds like a fabulous idea! You go mom!

  3. Amy says:

    I just noticed that you have my button. I need to get yours too. Thank you!!

    Don’t you just love little traditions with your kiddos. 🙂

  4. Tina says:

    Oh I love this tradition! May have to steal it starting next year! I too look forward to when Anna talks more about having friends over for sleepovers. I have such fond memories of that time when I was young!

Leave a Reply

