Handmade Pacifer Clips

A few weeks ago some co-workers and I were talking about how some baby products are just not as good as they used to be. One of the things that came up is silly, but many parents rely on it, I know I did.

The Pacifier Clip.

When Boo was a baby the clips were strong, and hardly ever came off without me actually squeezing the clip to take it off. Now, they can be pulled of if the angle is right and if an older “baby” pulls pm them. They just don’t clip worth a darn anymore.

Last night, in between cleaning tasks I started looking for an old school pacifier clip to order for Big Sis, I want her to have the best after all. I didn’t find an old school one, but I DID find an example of a homemade one, and that made me think…

Why can’t I make one? How hard could it be!

So I did.

All it took was a suspender clip, velcro and 10 inches of ribbon (you can make it longer or shorter)

Once you cut the ribbon to length, burn the ends to prevent it from unraveling. This is important since ribbon is known to do this easily.  Next, wrap the end of the ribbon through the opening and pin it down. Make two or three passes with the sewing machine and trim the strings once done.

Then, adhere the velcro. I used a scissor handle to make sure that there was actually room for a pacifier and that it held. I was not smart, and did not get the pre-glued velcro, so I had to sew mine. The pre-glued velcro would be easier, and you can still make a sewing pass to make sure that it is secure.

And that is it! Look at how cute it is! I can’t wait to make some for my sister and every other baby I can find!

I am loving finding all these simple projects that make a huge impact and can mean so much to someone!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Handmade Pacifer Clips

  1. melissa says:

    i’ve made these as gifts – they are so easy and SO adorable!!
    (and it gives me an excuse to buy more ribbon! WAH HA HAAA!!)

  2. BigSis says:

    I love them – they are so cute and I’m sure they’ll come in handy. Kurleen is so lucky to have you as her Auntie!!!

Leave a Reply

