Down on the Boardwalk

I spent this past weekend at a Baby Shower in New Jersey. First,  it was just exciting to visit a friend and her family with my sister, but on Thursday I realized something.

I would get to see the Ocean…for the first time…EVER.

Our family was never one to go on trips to the beach, we had ball tournaments and family up north to visit (plus a trip to Vegas when I was 14).  Both of my siblings had seen the ocean as they got older, but it was never a huge thing for me to go do. Plus I worked… a lot.  I don’t take “real” vacations, so this weekend was a double bonus for me.

After lunch with some amazing Philly bloggers (more on that later) Big Sis and her friend picked me up and off we went to Jersey. We stopped at J’s Mom’s house to drop off our stuff and chat a bit. It was wonderful to meet her family, there aren’t even words to talk about them all. They were wonderful, and so welcoming. Once we had chatted a bit we headed out to the shore.

This is what I saw…

Big Sis took my picture before we ventured into the sand, and my camera was going pretty much non-stop the entire time.

The sand was warm from the sun, and littered with shells and birds. There were people out fishing, walking on the beach and sitting just watching the waves come crashing in.  It was time…for me to walk on in!

The water was cold, but so worth it! I didn’t last long, and Big Sis took some great pictures like the one above. At one point a wave came in fast and high, I was not prepared and jeans were wet for a bit.

But the smells and the feeling of being in THAT water was wonderful. Coldness aside it was a perfect experience that I MUST have my children experience!

This entry was posted in Getting away, Life, Me. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Down on the Boardwalk

  1. darcie says:

    I love love love the ocean! Glad you got to experience it!
    sounds like your trip was great!
    awesome!!

  2. Robin says:

    Yay you! I’m glad to hear that you had a fun time and can’t wait to read about the rest of your trip. A word of warning, though…it’s easy to get hooked on the sound, smell and feel of the ocean, and I suspect this won’t be the last time your tootsies will touch it!

  3. Pingback: What I Learned This Week « The FritzFacts

  4. Megan says:

    I love the Ocean! At least the Atlantic is warmer than the Pacific! You’ll have to come back in the summer to experience a real beach trip!

  5. melissa says:

    i’m SO HAPPY you put your toes in!!!
    AWESOME!

  6. Terra says:

    looks like fun, cold water and all and I am certain your getswill get to experience it too!!

  7. Jo-Lynne says:

    YAY YAY YAY! I am so glad you got in. 🙂

Leave a Reply

