What I Learned This Week – Renting is overrated

There are so many lessons learned each day. This one is simple.

After having a quiet neighbor for 9 months, and no neighbor for the last two…our new ones are loud.

It isn’t that they are loud…but once I got used to the quiet, everything now seems to echo. Each door slam, each child scream and every time the garage door opens. Every time I go to do a load of laundry, only to once again have someone leave they clothes in the washing machine over night and all day long.

What I wouldn’t give to do laundry at 2 am if I wanted (or needed as of late). To be able to go to bed without hearing other doors shut. To be able to close my garage door, without worrying about the neighbor leaving theirs open. I can’t wait to have my kids play outside, and not worry about a neighbor tearing through the driveway.

When we get 6 inches of snow, and have to wait over 12 hours for the plows to come, only to have a friend get stuck in the driveway. I can’t believe I am saying this, but I can’t wait to shovel and even rake leaves.

When it takes over a week to get anything fixed, even something simple like a towel bar, I remember that soon I will be able to do it faster and on my own.

There are so many pros and cons to renting vs owning. Right now the cons of renting are getting stronger.

I just can’t wait to start the next step.

For more What I Learned This Week posts, check our Musings of a Housewife.

This entry was posted in What I learned. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

