What would quiet be?

Today was a day.

Long at work, long at home. It was just one of those days. The kind of day where I want to curl under my covers as soon as I can. Everyone is emotional today after a long weekend.

There are days I wish I had some quiet. Where I had some time. Where I wonder what it would be like in calmness.

But then I look around my dinner table, to the one banging his hands squashing his food, to the one that can’t make it more than 2 minutes without talking and to Hubs who is cringing when his fantasy running back gets plowed.

I wouldn’t have it any other way.

As much as I wish and dream of calm and quiet, there is a part of me that wishes our chaos was even more. Those are the days I really miss Hunter, even more than normal. His place at the table sits empty, and I ache for hisĀ  conversation and goofy humor.

But imagine the quiet…I don’t even know what to do with the though of it.

Linking up with Just Write today.

This entry was posted in being a mom, Just Write. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What would quiet be?

  1. Tricia says:

    I feel the same. I ache for the quiet but when I find myself with more than a moment of it, I want the chaos back.

Leave a Reply

